Red Cross Youth Leadership Camp

Hello, my name is Samantha Gonzalez, and I had the privilege to be part of the Red Cross Youth Leadership Camp that took place from July16 to July 20, 2012. Being the first year that the Red Cross held a summer camp for young people, in my opinion, they did a great job. From the very first day, the instructors were very informative and thorough when explaining what the Red Cross was all about, and what they mean to people. In all honesty, I didn’t know much about the Red Cross, but on the last day I could say that I could teach a lecture about it. We are all much more aware and prepared when it comes to being disaster-ready.

Before this experience, I very much took for granted the little amount of knowledge I had about the Red Cross, especially the shelters and mobile feeding. It wasn’t until the group had to do things first hand that I understood how challenging it can be, even though we only had a few clients. Merely trying to imagine having to feed and care for thousands of people made us all very stressed out.

The sense of accomplishment  and warmheartedness that an individual gets when knowing that you are now capable of performing CPR on another person is astounding, and I have  the Red Cross to thank for teaching me this valuable skill. One of our instructors, Jodie, was very helpful and patient when teaching us this, among many other helpful things.

Overall, the Red Cross Youth Leadership Camp was an amazing experience that I am very much looking forward to next year. It was very informative and helpful in many ways.

Leave a Reply

